Northwestern Health Sciences University SACA chapter earns national recognition

September 27, 2013

Northwestern Health Sciences University’s chapter of the Student American Chiropractic Association (SACA) was named Chapter of the Year at the SACA annual meeting and leadership conference on Sept. 20-22. Fourteen Northwestern Health students attended the meeting, along with Dr. Michele Maiers, advisor of the Northwestern Health SACA chapter and the Minnesota delegate to the ACA. The meeting was held at the Standard Process Inc. headquarters in Palmyra, Wis.

In addition to the chapter honors, several Northwestern Health students received awards:

  • Steven Huybrecht was elected SACA National Chair for 2013-14
  • Heidi Henson was awarded the J. Michael Flynn Leadership and Service Award
  • Bryan Knipfer received the SACA Leadership Award
  • Tim Klesk received the 2013 Outstanding Service Award

“The students who attended are professional and engaged student leaders,” said Dr. Maiers. “They are excellent representatives of our campus community.”

About Northwestern Health Sciences University

For more than 75 years, Northwestern Health Sciences University, based in Bloomington, Minn., has provided world-class professional education and research as well as comprehensive health and wellness services. Its more than 130 faculty members annually teach about 6,500 students pursuing degrees and continuing education in accredited programs in chiropractic, acupuncture, therapeutic massage, Chinese medicine, nutrition and other health treatments. Northwestern has more than 7,500 graduates throughout the U.S. and in 21 countries. For more information, please visit

Back to Top