NWHSU’s Michele Maiers Honored with Creation of ACA Leadership Award

Michele Maiers NextGen Member of the Year Award

Michele Maiers, DC, MPH, Ph.D. was recently honored by the ACA.

February 24, 2020 – The American Chiropractic Association (ACA), the largest professional chiropractic organization in the United States, has recognized Northwestern Health Sciences’ (NWHSU) Executive Director of Research and Innovation Michele Maiers, DC, MPH, Ph.D. by creating an annual award in her name. The Michele Maiers NextGen Member of the Year Award will honor excellent early-career chiropractors who demonstrate professional leadership within the ACA and beyond.

“Dr. Maiers has played an integral role in representing health policy and advocacy for the University for nearly a decade,” said Deb Bushway, Ph.D., the President and CEO at NWHSU. “As our students prepare to enter practice in a variety of settings, it is critical to have leaders like her paving the way for the next generation of healthcare practitioners.”

The first recipient of the Michele Maiers NextGen Member of the Year Award is Andrea Ohmann, DC, a recent graduate of NWHSU. She has continued to demonstrate leadership in the chiropractic community both nationally and in the Texas Chiropractic Association.

“I am honored and overwhelmed to be recognized as the first recipient of the Michele Maiers NextGen Member of the Year,” said Dr. Ohmann. “Dr. Maiers has been a mentor of mine since I started chiropractic school in 2015 and continues to inspire me to take action to create a future where everyone can access chiropractic care.”

The ACA also re-elected Dr. Maiers to the organization’s Board of Governors during the association’s annual meeting, Engage 2020, in Washington, D.C. She has played a critical role in the ACA’s work to advance research, evidence-based care and clinical guidelines review. Dr. Maiers was also re-elected to serve a second term as the vice president of the organization.

Download the press release here (PDF).